Polls and Drugs

Let me start this out by saying that I have already voted, I voted this afternoon at my local library, the polling place for my precinct. There was a line but it wasn’t terribly long. When I went there first, the line was fairly long and made up primarily of blacks, Hispanics and Middle Eastern/Indians. I didn’t have my cane and knew I’d have a hard time standing in that line without it so I went home then went back after lunch. There was a line but it was far shorter than the one this morning and the demographics had become more white. I stood in line for about 15-20 minutes then went to the machine and cast my ballot. It didn’t take long – all I had to do was check Republican then go through the pages and hit “cast ballot.”

As I write this, the Evening News is on our local CBS station. Scott Pelley was talking about how far behind Trump is, and maintaining a straight face even though he knows he’s lying. Let me tell you something about polls. First, there are polls and then there are polls. Some that pass as polls are actually “surveys” with no controls. Some are by telephone, the traditional method of polling, some are online and some are a combination. Some are one-time polls and some are Daily Tracking Polls, which are actually more accurate. And it’s the Daily Tracking Polls that are showing that Trump is actually ahead of Clinton in some instances and tied in others. One poll, the Dornsife poll conducted by the University of Southern California, showed Clinton with a slight lead this morning after several weeks with Trump ahead. The TIPP poll, which is considered the most accurate poll of all, shows Trump 2 points ahead as does the Rasmussen poll. All three polls are Daily Tracking Polls. Donald Trump is saying he doesn’t believe “the polls” and he has good reason to do so because the polls showing Hillary Clinton with big leads are lies.

How are polls manipulated? It’s actually very simple. Most polls are taken by companies either contracted by or favoring Democrats and they are looking for results favoring their candidate. Those favoring Clinton include all three of the broadcast TV networks and CNN along with the New York Times, Washington Post and numerous other newspapers who have all endorsed Clinton and are pulling out the stops to get her elected. (FOX may be favoring her as well.) Their pollsters bias the polls by concentrating on urban telephone exchanges where they know they will get more Democrats and more people to answer their phones. There was a time when everybody answered their phones but that day is long gone, thanks to Caller ID. Those who are most likely to answer are those in the demographics favoring Clinton, named those in lower income groups. This not only allows more respondents from the main demographic favoring Clinton, it also means more Democrats, which leads to what is known as “over sampling.” Pollsters stack the respondents they report with Democrats at a proportion far higher than their actual numbers in the national population. This causes polls to be biased toward Democrats and leads to results showing Clinton several points ahead of Trump while unbiased polling shows a dead heat or even Trump leading.

Now, let’s talk about drugs, drugs and the Clintons. Bill Clinton was governor of Arkansas in 1979-81 then again in 1983-1992. During the Clinton administration, a notorious drug runner conducted one of the largest drug-running operations in history from the airport at the Ouachita Mountain town of Mena, Arkansas. Barry Seal’s operation brought billions of dollars worth of drugs into Arkansas yet he was never prosecuted for his Mena activities. (He was arrested in Fort Lauderdale, Florida and became a government witness. I am not certain if I ever met Barry Seal or not, but we are “connected.” I worked as a flight instructor and charter pilot for a fixed-base operation in Little Rock and met a lot of people who came in to see my boss and at airports around the state. However, I never made a trip to Mena during that time. In fact, it wasn’t until I came to Houston that I went in there with my friend John Danek to take our airplane for paint and interior. By that time, Barry Seal was long since dead but people were still talking about him. Even then, I didn’t know about our connection and it wasn’t until  a few years later when I was living in Findlay, Ohio and happened to buy a book about the Clinton’s activities in Arkansas that I realized how closely connected we were.

While I was still working in Kentucky, I happened to run into a fellow pilot I had formerly worked with at Union City in the pilot’s lounge at Owensboro. By that time, our former employer had shut down and we talked about what had happened. Larry told me that one of our airplanes had been bought by “that drug dealer in Arkansas.” At the time, I didn’t know which drug dealer he was talking about and I’m not sure I remembered the conversation until I read the book. I’m not sure which book it was because I sent it to my daughter but I think it was this one. I was shocked when I read that one of Seal’s airplanes was a Piper Navajo with the N-number either 7509L or 7248L. I’m not sure which it was but those numbers were two airplanes I flew out of Union City. They had both modified with what was called the Nayak Conversion with the addition of fuel tanks in the engine nacelles that hadn’t been installed at the Piper factory. The additional fuel gave the airplanes vastly increased range, enough to fly to and from Central America from Mena.

Now, what does all of this have to do with the Clintons? As I mentioned above, Seal’s Mena operation was in operation during Clinton’s term as governor of the state. Incidentally, Mena is just north of where Clinton was born in Hope and 65 miles west of his boyhood home in Hot Springs, a town well-known for its connections to organized crime. Coincidentally, or perhaps not coincidentally, when Seal was busted, the lawyer he hired was Richard Ben-Vineste, a high-placed attorney and friend of the Clintons who had worked with Hillary on the Watergate investigation and who – WAS BILL CLINTON’S PERSONAL ATTORNEY! Now, is it mere coincidence that Seal was represented by him?

 

 

Author: semcgowanjr

I am a native of West Tennessee but have lived in North Carolina, Georgia, South Carolina, Delaware, Tennessee, Arkansas, Virginia, Kentucky, Texas and Ohio and now live in Texas near Houston. Twelve years of my life were spent in the Air Force. After leaving the military, I became a professional pilot and worked for two large corporations as a corporate pilot before I took early retirement on December 1, 2000. I went to work for Flight Safety, Texas as a ground school/simulator instructor and worked for a year and a half until I was let go due to downsizing. After leaving FSI, I went back to flying as a contract pilot and aircraft management company pilot until I quit flying in 2010 due to medical issues. I am rated 50% disabled by the VA for Type II diabetes related to herbicide exposure in South Vietnam. I spend my time writing. My books can be found at www.sammcgowan.com/books.html.

Leave a Reply

