Puritanical Hypocrisy

It’s been awhile since I’ve written anything on my blog, for a number of reasons. For one, I finished writing and published a novel, have been working on another, have read a few books, including the late Jim McDougal’s ARKANSAS MISCHIEF and started a memoir by a fellow loadmaster. Today I thought I’d take a short break and post some of my thoughts on the election, in which I will be voting tomorrow – for Donald Trump. Tomorrow is the first day of early voting here in Texas and I intend to take full advantage of it.

If there’s one thing that this election has made clear, it’s that there is a large wave of Puritan hypocrisy in this country, as the NBC audio tape have made clear. I’m not sure if people are so upset because Trump used the words “fuck” and “pussy” or because he told Billy Bush that he had once made a pass at Nancy O’Donnell, Bush’s coworker at Access Hollywood. Was it that he said “I tried to fuck her” instead of “I tried to get her in bed” or “I made a pass at her.” Then the media got all upset because he said that women throw themselves as “stars” – Trump was a TV star – and that he said “grab them by the pussy.” Of course, the media reported that Trump was talking about assaulting women when what he actually said was in reference to women who threw themselves at “stars”.

Now, the so-called “F-word,” fuck, is just that, a word, a word that goes back until at least the thirteenth century. That it’s in reference to sexual intercourse is obvious. It’s only a “dirty” word to people who (claim) don’t want to talk openly about sex, even though in today’s society it’s used in general conversation, particularly by so-called “millennials.” Broadcast TV shies away from it but the same can’t be said for cable, and particularly for Hollywood. That Trump used it should be no surprise – by the way, Hillary Clinton uses it too. The late General George Patton was famous for it. I first heard – or saw – the word over 60 years ago when someone wrote it on an outside wall at Lavinia Schoohere I was in fourth grade. I had never seen or heard it before and asked my buddies what it meant and they all burst out laughing. I hardly ever heard it growing up in rural West Tennessee but when I went in the military, it seemed to be every third word used in the conversations of men from Chicago and the Northeast.

Today’s Puritanism is not religious, but rather political, and it’s widespread in the media and among political pundits. Just as the English Puritans imposed certain conditions on their fellow adherents, today’s pundits impose strict conditions on, well, on just about everyone! It’s hypocritical (just as Puritanism was) because those who condemn others are guilty of the very same practices. They cluck-cluck when some woman “comes forward” (no doubt after having been paid) to claim that Trump kissed her without permission. Never mind that kissing on the lips is common among New Yorkers and in Hollywood. What is most hypocritical is that Democrats who accuse Trump of being a monster ignore the far more contemptuous conduct of presidents, particularly Bill Clinton, who was impeached for lying about his relationship with a young White House intern, Lyndon Johnson, who brought a famous hooker to the White House, and John Kennedy whose flagrant sexual activities were well known but ignored by the media. Kennedy seduced and deflowered a 19-year old intern (who was enrolled in a well-known Christian university) then ordered her to give his special assistant a blow job! Yet the media and Democrats have gone ballistic over an 11-year old tape in which Trump relates how a woman turned him down!

 

 

Author: semcgowanjr

I am a native of West Tennessee but have lived in North Carolina, Georgia, South Carolina, Delaware, Tennessee, Arkansas, Virginia, Kentucky, Texas and Ohio and now live in Texas near Houston. Twelve years of my life were spent in the Air Force. After leaving the military, I became a professional pilot and worked for two large corporations as a corporate pilot before I took early retirement on December 1, 2000. I went to work for Flight Safety, Texas as a ground school/simulator instructor and worked for a year and a half until I was let go due to downsizing. After leaving FSI, I went back to flying as a contract pilot and aircraft management company pilot until I quit flying in 2010 due to medical issues. I am rated 50% disabled by the VA for Type II diabetes related to herbicide exposure in South Vietnam. I spend my time writing. My books can be found at www.sammcgowan.com/books.html.

1 thought on “Puritanical Hypocrisy”

Leave a Reply

